Embassy /Diplomatic relations / PomanjÜaj pisavo PoveŔaj pisavo PRINT

Embassy of the Republic of Slovenia Canberra

26 Akame Circuit
O'Malley 2606 ACT
Phone: (+) 61 2 6290 0000
Fax: (+) 61 2 6290 0619
E-mail: vca(at)gov.si

Dr Milan Bala┼żic

Diplomatic relations

The relations between Slovenia and Australia and New Zealand respectively are good and friendly. Australia and New Zealand were among the first non-European countries to recognise the independent Republic of Slovenia. Their recognition came on 16 January 1992, only one day after the European Union recognised the new country. Diplomatic relations with Australia were established on 5 February 1992 and with New Zealand on 20 March 1992.